Click here to Visit the RBI’s new website


The Advent of Modern Banking in India

1720 to 1850s

Established Failed (F) or Merged (M) Bank Place
1720 1770 Bank of Bombay Bombay
1770 F 1832 Bank of Hindostan Calcutta
1773 F 1775 General Bank of Bengal and Bihar Calcutta
1784 F 1791 Bengal Bank Calcutta
1786 F 1791 General Bank of India Calcutta
1788 Unknown The Carnatic Bank Unknown
1806 M 1920 Bank of Calcutta Bank of Bengal, 1808 Calcutta
1819 F 1828 The Commercial Bank Calcutta
1824 F 1829 The Calcutta Bank Calcutta
1828 Unknown Bank of India  
1829 F 1848 The Union Bank Calcutta
1833 Unknown The Government Savings Bank Calcutta
1833 F 1866 The Agra & United Service Bank Ltd. (Earlier The Agra Bank and later The Agra and Masterman's Bank, London) Agra
1835 F 1837 The Bank of Mirzapore Mirzapur
1836 Still Born Bank of India (London)  
1840 F 1859 North Western Bank of India Mussoorie
1840 M 1920 Bank of Bombay: Re-formed in 1868  
1841 1842 Bank of Asia London
1841 M 1849 The Bank of Ceylon (Taken over by the Oriental Banking Corporation) Colombo
1842 Still Born The East India Bank, London  
1842 F 1884 The Oriental Bank Corporation (Earlier, Bank of Western India) Bombay
1842 1863 The Agra Savings Fund Agra
1843 M 1920 Bank of Madras Madras
1844 Unknown Delhi Bank Corporation Ltd. Delhi
1844 F 1850 The Benares Bank Banaras
1844 F 1893 Simla Bank Ltd. Simla
1845 F 1866 The Commercial Bank of India Bombay
1845 F 1851 The Cownpore Bank Kanpur
1846 M 1862 Dacca Bank (merged into Bank of Bengal) Dacca
1846 F 1894 Uncovenanted Service Agra Bank Ltd.
1852 Still Born London Bank of Australia & India Agra
1852 F 1855 Chartered Bank of Asia London
1853   Chartered Mercantile Bank of India, London & China London
1853   Chartered Bank of India, Australia and China London
1854 F 1857 The London and Eastern Banking Corp. London
1854   The Comptoir D'Escompte of Paris Paris
Sources: Cooke, Brunyate, Tandon, Maharashtra State Archives and RBI