Bank Notes

The Reserve Bank has the sole authority to issue banknotes in India. Reserve Bank, like other central banks the world over, changes the design of banknotes from time to time.

The Reserve Bank has introduced banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi Series since 1996 and has so far issued notes in the denominations of Rs.5, Rs.10, Rs.20, Rs.50, Rs.100, Rs.500 and Rs.1000 in this series.

Please click on the notes to view the bigger version and details.
1000 Rupees Note Logo 500 Rupees Note Logo
Rupees One Thousand. Rupees Five Hundred.
The legal tender character of the bank notes in denominations of ₹ 500 and ₹ 1000 mentioned above, issued by the Reserve Bank of India was withdrawn with the promulgation of the Specified Bank Notes (Cessation of Liabilities) Ordinance 2016 (GoI Ordinance No. 10 of 2016 dated December 30, 2016). As a result, with effect from December 31, 2016, the above Bank Notes ceased to be the liabilities of the Reserve Bank of India and ceased to have the guarantee of the Central Government.
100 Rupees Note Logo 50 Rupees Note Logo 20 Rupees Note Logo
Rupees One Hundred. Rupees Fifty. Rupees Twenty.
10 Rupees Note Logo 5 Rupees Note Logo  
Rupees Ten. Rupees Five.