Press Releases

PDF document (385 kb)
Date : Jan 21, 2021
Auction of State Government Securities

The following State Governments/ Union Territories have offered to sell securities by way of an auction, for an aggregate amount of ₹16,000 Cr. (Face Value).

Sr. No. State/ UT Amount to be Raised
(₹ Cr)
Additional Borrowing
(Greenshoe) Option (₹ Cr)
Type of Auction
1. Chhattisgarh 1000 - 6 Yield
2. Gujarat 500 - 10 Yield
3. Haryana 2000 - 20 Yield
4. Himachal Pradesh 500 - 10 Yield
500 - 12 Yield
5. Madhya Pradesh 1000 - Re-issue of 6.61% Madhya Pradesh SDL 2037 Issued on January 20, 2021 Price
6. Puducherry 250 - 4 Yield
7. Rajasthan 500 - 4 Yield
500 500 10 Yield
500 - 20 Yield
8. Tamil Nadu 1000 - Re-issue of 6.60% Tamil Nadu SDL 2029 Issued on June 24, 2020 Price
1500 - Re-issue of 6.63% Tamil Nadu SDL 2055 Issued on July 08, 2020 Price
9. Telangana 750 250 30 Yield
10. Uttar Pradesh 3500 - 10 Yield
11. West Bengal 2000 - 10 Yield
  Total 16000      

The auction will be conducted on the Reserve Bank of India Core Banking Solution (E-Kuber) system on January 25, 2021 (Monday). The Government Stock up to 10% of the notified amount of the sale of each stock will be allotted to eligible individuals and institutions subject to a maximum limit of 1% of its notified amount for a single bid per stock as per the Scheme for Non-competitive Bidding Facility.

Both competitive and non-competitive bids for the auction should be submitted in electronic format on the Reserve Bank of India Core Banking Solution (E-Kuber) system on January 25, 2021 (Monday). The non-competitive bids should be submitted between 10.30 A.M. and 11.00 A.M. and the competitive bids should be submitted between 10.30 A.M. and 11.30 A.M.

In case of technical difficulties, Core Banking Operations Team (email; Phone no: 022-27595666, 022-27595415, 022-27523516) may be contacted.

For other auction related difficulties, IDMD auction team can be contacted (email; Phone no: 022-22702431, 022-22705125).

Only in the event of system failure, physical bids would be accepted. Such physical bids should be submitted to the Public Debt Office (email; Phone no: 022-22632527, 022-22701299) in the prescribed form obtainable from RBI website ( before the auction timing ends.

The yield percent per annum expected by the bidder should be expressed up to two decimal points. An investor can submit more than one competitive bid at same/different rates of yield or prices in electronic format on the Reserve Bank of India Core Banking Solution (E-Kuber) system. However, the aggregate amount of bids submitted by a bidder should not exceed the notified amount for each State.

The Reserve Bank of India will determine the maximum yield /minimum price at which bids will be accepted. Securities will be issued for a minimum nominal amount of ₹10,000.00 and multiples of ₹10,000.00 thereafter.

The results of the auction will be announced on January 25, 2021 (Monday) and payment by successful bidders will be made during banking hours on January 27, 2021 (Wednesday) at Mumbai and at respective Regional Offices of RBI.

The State Government Stocks will bear interest at the rates determined by RBI at the auctions. For the new securities, interest will be paid half yearly on July 27 and January 27 of each year till maturity. The Stocks will be governed by the provisions of the Government Securities Act, 2006 and Government Securities Regulations, 2007.

The investment in State Government Stocks will be reckoned as an eligible investment in Government Securities by banks for the purpose of Statutory Liquidity Ratio (SLR) under Section 24 of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949. The stocks will qualify for the ready forward facility.

Ajit Prasad

Press Release: 2020-2021/979