Avinash K. Dixit

John J. F. Sherrerd University Professor
of Economics
at Princeton University

Avinash K. Dixit is the John J. F. Sherrerd University Professor of Economics at Princeton University. His research interests have included microeconomic theory, game theory, international trade, industrial organisation, growth and development theories, public economics, political economy, and the new institutional economics. His book publications include Theory of International Trade (with Victor Norman), Thinking Strategically (with Barry Nalebuff), Investment Under Uncertainty (with Robert Pindyck), The Making of Economic Policy: A Transaction Cost Politics Perspective, and Games of Strategy (with Susan Skeath), and Lawlessness and Economics. He has also published numerous articles in professional journals and collective volumes.

He was President of the Econometric Society in 2001, and a Vice-President of the American Economic Association in 2002. He is President-Elect of the latter for 2007, and will be President for 2008. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1992 and the National Academy of Sciences in 2005, and a Corresponding (Foreign) Fellowship of the British Academy in 2006.

His awards include the Mahalanobis Memorial International Medal of the Indian Econometric Society for 1985, the Distinguished Fellow in Economics award from the University of Munich (1994), an honorary doctorate from the Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration (1996), and the Von Neumann Award from the Budapest University of Economic Science and Public Administration (2001).

Dixit was born in Bombay (now Mumbai) in 1944, and is a naturalised U.S. citizen. He was educated at St. Xavier's College (Bombay), Corpus Christi College (Cambridge) and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was an assistant professor at the University of California, Berkeley, a fellow of Balliol College, Oxford, and professor at the University of Warwick, before joining Princeton in 1981. He has held visiting professorships at MIT, and visiting scholar positions at the International Monetary Fund, the London School of Economics, the Institute for International Economic Studies (Stockholm), and the Russell Sage Foundation.