About Us     Useful Information     FAQs     Financial Education     Complaints   Other Links   Extra Curricular
Home >> PressReleases - Display
Note : To obtain an aligned printout please download the (226.00 kb ) version to your machine and then use respective software to print the story.
Date: 23/12/2016
Issue of ₹ 5 coins to commemorate the occasion of "University of Mysore Centenary Celebrations”

The Government of India has minted the above mentioned coins which the Reserve Bank of India will shortly put into circulation.

The design details of these coins as notified in The Gazette of India-Extraordinary-Part II-Section 3-Sub-section (i)-No.591 dated August 24, 2016 published by the Ministry of Finance, Department of Economic Affairs, are as follows -

Obverse -

The face of the coin shall bear the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar in the centre with the legend "सत्यमेव जयते" inscribed below, flanked on the left periphery with the word "भारत" in Devnagri script and on the right periphery with the word "INDIA" in English. It shall also bear the Rupee symbol ‘₹’ and denominational value “5" in the international numerals below the Lion Capitol.

Reverse -

The face of the coin shall bear the image of “Crawford Hall Building“ along with the portrait of “Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV” in the centre, with inscription “ मैसूर विश्वविद्यालय शताब्दी महोत्सव ” in Devnagri script and “UNIVERSITY OF MYSORE CENTENARY CELEBRATIONS” in English shall be written on the upper and lower periphery of the coin respectively. The year “1916” and “2016” in international numerals shall be written at left and right side, below the image of Crawford hall Building respectively.

These coins are legal tender as provided in The Coinage Act 2011. The existing coins in this denomination shall also continue to be legal tender.

Ajit Prasad
Assistant Adviser

Press Release : 2016-2017/1640

  © Reserve Bank of India. All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution in IE 5 and above.