About Us     Useful Information     FAQs     Financial Education     Complaints   Other Links   Extra Curricular
Home >> PressReleases - Display
Note : To obtain an aligned printout please download the (156.00 kb ) version to your machine and then use respective software to print the story.
Date: 21/12/2016
RBI Imposes Monetary Penalty on Five Authorised Dealer Banks

The Reserve Bank of India has imposed monetary penalty on the following five banks for violation of Reserve Bank of India’s instructions on reporting requirements of the Foreign Exchange Management Act, 1999 (FEMA). The details of the penalty amounts are:

S. No. Name of the bank Penalty Amount (in ₹)
1. Bank of America 10,000
2. Bank of Tokyo Mitsubishi 10,000
3. Deutsche Bank 20,000
4. The Royal Bank of Scotland 10,000
5. Standard Chartered Bank 10,000

The penalties have been imposed in exercise of the powers vested in the Reserve Bank under the provisions of Section 11(3) of FEMA 1999, taking into account, the violations of the instructions/directions/guidelines issued by the Reserve Bank of India, from time to time.

The Reserve Bank had issued a show cause notice to the banks, in response to which the banks submitted written replies and also made oral submissions thereon. After considering the facts of the cases and the banks’ replies in the matter, Reserve Bank came to the conclusion that the violations were substantiated and warranted imposition of penalty.

Ajit Prasad
Assistant Adviser

Press Release : 2016-2017/1604

  © Reserve Bank of India. All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution in IE 5 and above.