About Us     Useful Information     FAQs     Financial Education     Complaints   Important Websites  
Home >> Notification - Display
Note : To obtain an aligned printout please download the (188.00 kb ) version to your machine and then use respective software to print the story.
Date: 18/01/2018
Formation of new districts in the State of Assam - Assignment of Lead Bank Responsibility


January 18, 2018

The Chairmen & Managing Directors/ Chief Executive Officers
All Lead Banks

Dear Sir/Madam,

Formation of new districts in the State of Assam -
Assignment of Lead Bank Responsibility

The Government of Assam vide Gazette Notifications dated January 25, 2016, February 26, 2016 and August 5, 2016 had notified the creation of eight new districts in the State of Assam. It has been decided to assign the lead bank responsibility of the new districts as detailed below:-

Sr No Newly carved district Erstwhile District Sub Divisions under the newly created district Lead Bank Responsibility assigned to District Working Code allotted to new district
1 Nagaon Nagaon Kaliabor United Bank of India 014
2 Hojai Nagaon Hojai Civil United Bank of India 409
3 Sivsagar Sivsagar Nazira United Bank of India 012
4 Charaideo Sivsagar Charaideo United Bank of India 405
5 Jorhat Jorhat Titabor United Bank of India 011
6 Majuli Jorhat Majuli Civil United Bank of India 408
7 Dhubri Dhubri Bilasipara UCO Bank 019
8 South Salmara- Mankachar Dhubri South Salmara Sub Division except area of Fakirganj Zila Parishad constituency and except Birsingh Jarwa Block and Jamadarhat Development Block UCO Bank 406
9 Sonitpur Sonitpur Tezpur, Dhekiajuli UCO Bank 006
10 Biswanath Sonitpur Gohpur civil, Biswanath civil and Sootea and Nagsankar mouzas of the Naduar revenue circle. United Bank of India 407
11 Karbi Anglong Karbi Anglong Bokajan State Bank of India 016
12 West Karbi Anglong Karbi Anglong Hamren Civil State Bank of India 404

2. Further, although two new districts “East Kamrup” and “South Kamrup” have been published in the Gazette Notification dated February 26, 2016, these two districts are still non-functional as per the communication received from the Government of Assam. Lead bank responsibility will hence be assigned separately for these districts.

3. The District Working Codes of the new districts have been allotted for the purpose of BSR reporting by banks.

4. There is no change in the lead bank responsibilities of the other districts in the State of Assam.

Yours faithfully

(Ajay Kumar Misra)
Chief General Manager

  © Reserve Bank of India. All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution in IE 5 and above.