Press Releases

PDF document (390 kb)
Date : Mar 26, 2020
Auction of State Government Securities

The following State Governments have offered to sell securities by way of an auction, for an aggregate amount of ₹ 25,757.97 cr (Face Value).

Sr. No. State Amount to be raised
(₹ Cr)
Type of Auction
1. Andhra Pradesh 618 13 Yield
2. Bihar 2000 3 Yield
3. Chhattisgarh 2680 10 Yield
4. Gujarat * 500 6 Yield
1000 Re-issue Price (Re-issue of 7.52% Gujarat SDL 2027 issued on May 24, 2017)
5. Himachal Pradesh 420 10 Yield
6. Jharkhand 1500 12 Yield
7. Karnataka 1400 Re-issue Price (Re-issue of 6.97% Karnataka SDL 2030 issued On February 26, 2020)
1000 Re-issue Price (Re-issue of 7.09% Karnataka SDL 2030 issued on March 18, 2020)
8. Madhya Pradesh 750 4 Yield
750 9 Yield
9. Puducherry 70 10 Yield
10. Punjab 200 4 Yield
272.50 5 Yield
11. Rajasthan 510.50 10 Yield
1000 12 Yield
12. Tamil Nadu 560 7 Yield
13. Telangana 1000 5 Yield
750 8 Yield
823.97 10 Yield
14. Uttar Pradesh 3703 10 Yield
15. Uttarakhand 250 10 Yield
16. West Bengal 4000 10 Yield
  Total 25757.97    
* Gujarat will have an option to retain an additional amount upto ₹ 500 crore, in the 6 year security.

The auction will be conducted on the Reserve Bank of India Core Banking Solution (E-Kuber) system on March 30, 2020 (Monday). The Government Stock up to 10% of the notified amount of the sale of each stock will be allotted to eligible individuals and institutions subject to a maximum limit of 1% of its notified amount for a single bid per stock as per the Scheme for Non-competitive Bidding Facility.

Both competitive and non-competitive bids for the auction should be submitted in electronic format on the Reserve Bank of India Core Banking Solution (E-Kuber) system on March 30, 2020 (Monday). The non-competitive bids should be submitted between 10.30 A.M. and 11.30 A.M. and the competitive bids should be submitted between 10.30 A.M. and 12.00 noon.

Only in the event of system failure, physical bids would be accepted. Such physical bids should be submitted to the Public Debt Office (email; Phone no: 022-22632527, 022-22701299) in the prescribed form obtainable from RBI website ( before the auction timing ends. In case of technical difficulties, Core Banking Operations Team should be contacted (email; Phone no: 022-27595414, 022-27595666). For other auction related difficulties, IDMD auction team can be contacted (email; Phone no: 022-22702431, 022-22705125).

The yield percent per annum expected by the bidder should be expressed up to two decimal points. An investor can submit more than one competitive bid at same/different rates of yield or prices in electronic format on the Reserve Bank of India Core Banking Solution (E-Kuber) system. However, the aggregate amount of bids submitted by a bidder should not exceed the notified amount for each State.

The Reserve Bank of India will determine the maximum yield /minimum price at which bids will be accepted. Securities will be issued for a minimum nominal amount of ₹ 10,000.00 and multiples of ₹ 10,000.00 thereafter.

The results of the auction will be announced on March 30, 2020 (Monday) and payment by successful bidders will be made during banking hours on March 31, 2020 (Tuesday) at Mumbai and at respective Regional Offices of RBI.

The State Government Stocks will bear interest at the rates determined by RBI at the auctions. For the new securities, interest will be paid half yearly on September 30 and March 31 of each year till maturity. The Stocks will be governed by the provisions of the Government Securities Act, 2006 and Government Securities Regulations, 2007.

The investment in State Government Stocks will be reckoned as an eligible investment in Government Securities by banks for the purpose of Statutory Liquidity Ratio (SLR) under Section 24 of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949. The stocks will qualify for the ready forward facility.

Ajit Prasad

Press Release: 2019-2020/2127